I haven’t posted in awhile.  Oh well, it’s not like I have a large audience pining away after me, so I don’t feel too guilty.

I’m itchy.  So itchy.  I have been for almost a year, but it was always manageable.  I figured it was my body soap or maybe my deodorant, based on the location of the itchiness.  But over the past two or three months it has doubled in intensity.  Now there are very few square inches of my body that are not constantly itchy.  Over the past two weeks I have noticed a slightly raised rash, and that there is bruising and scarring localized in some of the more intense places, like my legs.

After a lot of reading and thinking, I’ve come to the conclusion that I am allergic to HE (High efficiency) laundry detergent.

I’ve always used free and clear detergents, because that is what I grew up with, so it never occurred to me that even the free and clear HE detergents would bother me…but they do.  Some more so than others, it seems, but they all leave me itchy.

So I’m going to make my own!

I’ve found several recipes on the interwebz and I’m going to kind of mix and match to suit my needs.

I’m really hoping this works, otherwise I’m really at a loss.  We’ve eliminated some other factors.  Like bedbugs.  Anytime I itch I’m instantly terrified that I’ve been infested with bedbugs.  Uuuuuuughghaosidalfdkjanajnfkanskmdf.  But David is not itchy and he has no rashes or bug bites.  So unless they’re only biting me, we don’t have them and THANK GOD.  Also, my itchiness is symmetrical.  (How thoughtful of it!) If I’m itchy on the outside of my left thigh you can guarantee I’m also itchy on the outside of my right thigh.

Another huge bonus is that it’s really rather inexpensive to make your own detergent…

