(Such a sad song.  I love it.  Even if it’s Green Day.)

Aspens, Mount Evans Road
(Photo: markehr)

Have you ever noticed that just about every song ever written about Autumn is sad?  Don’t get me wrong, I am a huge fan of minor chords and melancholy lyrics; I suppose it’s even suiting, as everything around us goes to sleep for the winter.  But it’s not right.

I love Fall.  I love everything about it.  I love the just-warm days and chilly nights.  I love the sweaters.  I love hot apple cider and a crackling fire. I love Aspen trees and the vibrant gold they turn.

I love the smell of crunchy leaves.  I love how the sunlight feels and looks warm and kind.  I love flannel shirts and jackets.  I love the electricity that hums in the air as everyone knows the holidays are almost here.

In the Autumn everything in life feels more peaceful, sweeter, gentler.  It balances between the sweltering heat of Summer and the frost of Winter and offers us a sigh of relief; a welcomed rest.

I heart Autumn.

This year I am looking forward to so much.   This year I’m not big and uncomfortable in my last trimester of pregnancy (and getting ready for a temporary move into my parents’) and I can’t wait to make the upcoming holiday season special for our little family in our own (rented) home.   I got pregnant a few months after David and I got married, so I’m looking forward to being energetic and able to bend over this holiday season!

Some of the things I can’t wait to do…

  • Make a wreath
  • Carve pumpkins – still searching for inspiration!
  • Make some ugly dollar store faux-squash beautiful!
  • Bake pumpkin muffins/bread (I’m really more excited about the eating part…)
  • Find an Autumnal scented candle
  • Wear tights!
  • Hum Christmas carols under my breath so I don’t get flogged by CCNs (Christmas Carol Nazis) out there.

Oh Autumn how I heart thee.

Let’s chat: What are you looking forward to this wonderful Autumn season?

