Horror Movie Bedroom(Photo: Genevieve Goffman)

There is much in the world to make us afraid.  There is much more in our faith to make us unafraid.  ~Frederick W. Cropp

Fear.  It’s everywhere.  From horror movies to the evening news, we are given a lot of reasons to be afraid.  Our fears are rational, even expected.  Yet fear is one of those things no one really wants to talk about.  It’s something we will–or even just fear we will–get berated for.  So we say that we’re not scared, even as our skin crawls and our hearts race.  But the reality is that we’re all afraid of something.

I never thought of myself as a fearful person.  Sure, I’m terrified of crickets, but that’s not a real fear and totally doesn’t count.  And neither do my fears of alligators, riptides, sharks, bedbugs, falling, lice, wasps, having teeth pulled, financial instability, watching my husband or daughter die, sea turtles, someone hiding in my shower, my husband’s career choice, or birds.  Nothing scares me.

Oh, and E.T..   Very normal.

Yet, I still don’t see myself as a fearful person.  Maybe that is because most of these fears (though completely justifiable) aren’t ones I encounter on a daily basis.  (I mean, how often am I going to run into a sea turtle in my landlocked neighborhood?)  However, just because I’m not Adrian Monk, doesn’t mean I don’t let these fears dictate how I live and think.

And that’s what I’m having to come to terms with.  I am afraid.  But I’m not the only one.  I am afraid.  But I have a God who understands my fears and is taking care of it all, even without me asking.

Though I never considered myself a fearful person, God saw that I was and has opened two doorways for me to learn about my fear and address it.  First, the ladies in my church are studying the book Running Scared: Fear, Worry, and the God of Rest by Edward Welch.  Secondly, the blog (in)courage is beginning a book study of the book What Women Fear: Walking in Faith that Transforms by Angie Smith.  I have started reading Running Scared, but I’m going to hold off on What Women Fear and just satisfy myself with reading the blog posts (and other women’s thoughts) on it for now.  It’s time to face my fear”lessness” head on.

Let’s chat: Do you think you’re a fearful person?  

 

