No Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies
(Photo: The Cutting Board)

I have a confession to make.

I am obsessed.

I don’t like to bake.  I never have and I don’t anticipate enjoying it anytime soon.  I do make the occasional batch of sugar cookies, and we keep aging bananas for banana bread but other than that I just don’t do it.

Enter the no-bake cookie.

We’ve all had them.  I think.  Well, most people have.  They’re hard not to like; chocolatey oatmeal, there is nothing there not to like.  I would even imagine most people have made them at least once.

Not me.  I’ve made them twice.  In the past week.

I am completely and hopelessly obsessed with them.  They’re so yummy and so quick and so easy.  No preheating an oven.  No rolling out dough.  No measuring flour.  You boil, mix and plop.  (Which is a really unappetizing way to put it, but that’s what you do!)

But we just ran out of cheap-o sugar and I am not wasting the expensive, less-refined sugar on cookies.  We want to cut back on our sugar intake.  And we will…once we’re done eating the batch I made tonight.

Let’s chat: What is your secret food obsession?

